Southern Procrastination

On a day celebrating the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., I thought of this quote from his famous “I have a Dream” speech: “We have also come to this hallowed spot to remind America of the fierce urgency of Now.”

King was speaking of giving African Americans the rights they deserve as citizens NOW instead of gradually over time; however, this also can apply to every one of our lives.

Procrastination is defined as “the act or habit of procrastinating, or putting off or delaying, especially something requiring immediate attention.” 

God warns us about this is James 4:13-14 when the brother of Jesus writes: “Come now, you who say, ‘Today or tomorrow we will go to such and such a city, spend a year there, buy and sell, and make a profit’; whereas you do not know what will happen tomorrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapor that appears for a little time and then vanishes away.”

This is one of my biggest struggles. I have made myself lazy. Laziness was not a quality bred in me or taught to me, yet I have become such by my own choices. I prefer to put things off until later, knowing that I work well under pressure; however, this is a sin. 

Some of you might think that I’m being dramatic by calling this sin, but if God tells us to do something or not to do something, and we disobey, that is sin. Part of David Shannon’s message yesterday was to call sin what it is instead of masking it to make yourself or others feel better. God, through James, said in chapter 4 and verse 17 “Remember, it is sin to know what you ought to do and then not do it.”

The fierce urgency of now should apply to anything in our lives that we need to do. Don’t put it off! Do it now! You may not have a tomorrow to do it. What do you need to do? Get up, and get it done!

Peace. Love. Roll Tide.

Leave a Reply

